
Canva vs NotionPricing compared
Canva starts at 18 USD and Notion starts at 10 USD; both offer free tiers. Pick Canva for K-12 design and content creation; pick Notion for university notes, docs, and wikis.
Prices checked Page updated
Canva and Notion prices, side by side
USD, list prices![]() | ||
|---|---|---|
| Free Plan Availability | Canva Free is open to anyone; Canva Education is $0 for K-12 teachers and students. | University students and educators with a school email get Education Plus at $0. |
| Sign-up CC Requirements | Data doesn't say. | Data doesn't say. |
| Usage Limits / Quotas | Canva AI tools have an allowance depending on your plan; no other specific limits stated for Canva Free. | Free plan has a 5MB upload cap and 7-day page history. |
| Watermarking / Export Caps | Data doesn't say. | Data doesn't say. |
Read from each tool's official pricing page. Prices checked .
Which one fits you
- Developer FitEither one
- Neither tool's metadata mentions APIs, CLI, or custom coding features.
- Value for MoneyNotion
- Notion's paid plans start at 10 USD/seat/month, which is lower than Canva's 18 USD starting price.
- Free Tier UsabilityNotion
- Notion starts cheaper ($10 vs $18). Canva Free is open to anyone without an explicit upload cap, while Notion Free has a 5MB upload cap.
- Team CollaborationCanva
- Canva offers LMS integrations and class assignments, indicating stronger educational collaboration features.
- Beginner FriendlinessCanva
- Canva features a drag-and-drop editor with templates, suggesting a simpler learning curve.
- Performance & StabilityCanva
- Canva has the higher user rating (4.8★ vs 4.7★). The provided metadata does not contain information regarding performance or stability for either tool.
- Data Privacy & ComplianceCanva
- Canva explicitly states GDPR and CCPA compliance, while Notion's compliance is not stated.
The tradeoffs
- Both
Canva provides a browser-based design app for visual content creation; Notion offers a workspace for notes, docs, wikis, and databases.
- Both
Canva Education is available for K-12 teachers and students; Notion Education Plus is for university students and educators.
- Both
Canva states compliance with GDPR and CCPA; Notion's compliance status is not stated in the metadata.
Live deals on Canva and Notion
Official trials, promos and discounts we have checked on each tool's own page, with the date.
Questions about Canva and Notion
Is Canva or Notion cheaper?
Notion has the lower entry price. Paid plans for Canva start at $18 a month and for Notion at $10 a month. Those are list prices: yearly billing, student pricing and live deals can change which one costs you less, and the table above shows each.
Is there a student discount on Canva or Notion?
Canva: Canva Education for K-12 Teachers and Students ($0 for K-12 classrooms), checked 13 Oct 2026. Notion: Notion Education Plus for Students ($120/yr off), checked 25 Sep 2026.
Do Canva and Notion have a $0 plan?
Yes, both. Canva and Notion each have a plan that costs $0, so what matters is whose limits you hit first. The side-by-side table above lists what each one includes.
Are Canva and Notion used for the same thing?
Not quite. We list Canva under Design & creative and Notion under Notes & productivity, so they overlap on some jobs and do not replace each other outright. Read the tradeoffs above before treating one as a swap for the other.
More comparisons
Canva vs Midjourney
Canva and Midjourney do different jobs: Canva is a design editor for posts, slides and documents, and Midjourney generates images and video from prompts. The price question is usually whether you need both. Canva has a…
- Canva
- From $18/mo
- Midjourney
- From $10/mo

Midjourney vs Recraft
Midjourney and Recraft both generate AI images, and Recraft also makes vector graphics you can edit as SVG. On price, Recraft is the one you can start at $0, though $0-plan images are public and can't be used…
- Midjourney
- From $10/mo
- Recraft
- From $12/mo
Swap a tool

