MiniMax vs Perplexity AIPricing compared
MiniMax starts at $22/month with no free tier, while Perplexity AI starts at $10/month for Education Pro and has a free tier. Pick MiniMax for building apps and running coding agents; pick Perplexity AI for web research with cited sources.
Prices checked Page updated
MiniMax and Perplexity AI prices, side by side
USD, list prices| Free Plan Availability | No free tier | Free tier available |
|---|---|---|
| Sign-up CC Requirements | The data does not state this | The data does not state this |
| Usage Limits / Quotas | No free tier | The data does not state free tier limits |
| Watermarking / Export Caps | No free tier | The data does not state this |
Read from each tool's official pricing page. Prices checked .
Which one fits you
- Developer FitMiniMax
- MiniMax provides a pay-as-you-go API and a Token Plan for coding agents, while Perplexity AI is an answer engine.
- Value for MoneyPerplexity AI
- Perplexity AI starts at a lower price of $10/month for Education Pro and has a free tier, while MiniMax starts at $22/month.
- Free Tier UsabilityPerplexity AI
- Perplexity AI has a free tier, whereas MiniMax does not offer a free tier.
- Team CollaborationMiniMax
- MiniMax offers a Token Plan for Teams with seat assignment and a shared credits pool, whereas the data does not list team features for Perplexity AI.
- Beginner FriendlinessPerplexity AI
- Perplexity AI offers a straightforward web search interface with cited sources, while MiniMax is built for API integration and token management.
- Performance & StabilityPerplexity AI
- Perplexity AI has the higher user rating (4.6★ vs 4★). The provided data does not contain performance metrics or stability ratings for either MiniMax or Perplexity AI.
- Data Privacy & ComplianceEither one
- The provided data does not state compliance or privacy certifications for either MiniMax or Perplexity AI.
The tradeoffs
- Both
Choosing MiniMax gives you API access and multi-modal generation models, but you lose the ability to search the web with cited sources.
- Both
Choosing Perplexity AI gives you a free tier and a lower starting price of $10/month, but you give up pay-as-you-go API billing and speech or video generation models.
- Both
Choosing MiniMax requires a minimum payment of $22/month, while choosing Perplexity AI allows you to use the tool for $0 on the free tier.
Live deals on MiniMax and Perplexity AI
Official trials, promos and discounts we have checked on each tool's own page, with the date.
Perplexity AI
Perplexity Education Pro for Students
You pay $10nowthen $10/month
$10/month with SheerIDWorkscheckedPerplexity AI
Perplexity Pro 7-Day Trial
7-day Pro trialWorkschecked
No live deal on MiniMax that we have checked right now. MiniMax pricing and cheaper plans.
Questions about MiniMax and Perplexity AI
Is MiniMax or Perplexity AI cheaper?
Perplexity AI has the lower entry price. Paid plans for MiniMax start at $22 a month and for Perplexity AI at $10 a month. Those are list prices: yearly billing, student pricing and live deals can change which one costs you less, and the table above shows each.
Is there a student discount on MiniMax or Perplexity AI?
MiniMax: no student deal that we have checked right now. Perplexity AI: Perplexity Education Pro for Students ($10/month with SheerID), checked 9 Oct 2026.
Do MiniMax and Perplexity AI have a $0 plan?
Perplexity AI has a $0 plan you can stay on; MiniMax does not. If MiniMax is the one you want, its tool page lists the official trials, discounts and cheaper plans we have checked.
Can Perplexity AI replace MiniMax?
They are direct alternatives: we list both under AI assistants. Whether Perplexity AI replaces MiniMax for you comes down to the tradeoffs above and which plan limits you would run into first.
More comparisons

Perplexity AI vs ChatGPT Plus
Perplexity is an answer engine that cites its sources for each reply; ChatGPT Plus is a general assistant for writing, images and files. On price, Perplexity is the cheaper one for students all year: Education Pro is…
- Perplexity AI
- From $10/mo
- ChatGPT Plus
- From $20/mo


Claude vs DeepSeek
Claude and DeepSeek sit at opposite ends on price. DeepSeek's chat app costs $0 and its API bills per million tokens, from $0.15 for input on the cheapest model off-peak. Claude has a $0 plan, Pro at $20 a month or…
- Claude
- From $17/mo
- DeepSeek
- $0 plan


Claude vs Mistral Le Chat
Claude and Mistral Le Chat both have a $0 plan, but Le Chat is the cheaper one to pay for, and much cheaper for students. Le Chat Pro is $14.99 a month, or $5.99 for verified students for up to 12 months. Claude Pro is…
- Claude
- From $17/mo
- Mistral Le Chat
- From $14.99/mo


Genspark vs ChatGPT Plus
Genspark and ChatGPT Plus sit at roughly the same $20/month price point but solve different problems: Genspark orchestrates 8 specialized models and 80+ tools to autonomously finish a deliverable, while ChatGPT Plus…
- Genspark
- From $19.99/mo
- ChatGPT Plus
- From $20/mo
Swap a tool

